Castles

Tullgarns slott
Tullgarn castle is a very popular place for a daytrip along the Sörmland coastline. The pink baroque palace is nestled in a vast, lush park. All around you see wooded hills alternating with meadows, where oak trees have grown thick over the centuries. The park shows, like the castle, apparent impact of their users and their contemporaries. The park had a rectangular shape which, according to contemporary Scandinavian design, should have included both pure utility plants and flowers. In 1719 the owner, Magnus Julius De La Gardie, decided that it was time to rebuild Tullgarn the way it was before it was totally destroyed by the Russians. The following year, 1720 construction began in earnest and it was completed in 1727.
Since the 1960s, the castle has been open to the public. There is also a café, gift shop and a B&B.
Open: Weekends in September, Tuesday-Sunday in June-August. Guided tours in English are at 15.00.
Webb | +46 (0)8-551 720 11
Tullgarns slott, 610 74 Vagnhärad

Nynäs slott
Discover an exciting piece of Swedish history, culture and nature. The Nynäs manor estate and nature reserve is located on the Swedish baltic coast, about 80 kilometers south of the capital Stockholm, right between the small historic towns of Trosa and Nyköping. This is in the province of Södermanland, a territory known for its large number of stately homes and manors.

Since 1985 the main building at Nynäs manor is owned by the county council and the National art museum (Nationalmuseum). This amazingly well-preserved historic house is open for visitors during the summerseason. The estate as a whole is the largest nature reserve area of the province, with public access all year around.
Website | +46 (0)155 – 26 15 05
Nynäs slott, 611 99 Tystberga

Tureholm Castle
Tureholm Castle is a privately owned castle just outside Trosa. Here lives the family Bonde. The castle is located in the place where Gäddeholm originated from the 1300s. In the 1640s, a new castle was built by Erik Dahlberg, commissioned by Sten Nilsson Bielke. The castle burned down during the Russian fires in 1719. In Suecia Antiqua, a Hodier from the 1660’s, one can see the castle that burned down and conclude that the castle we see today is quite similar to what was before, but without a similarly well-maintained park.

Ten years after the Russian fires, Thure Gabriel Bielke began to build the castle again and since then it has looked like it does today, it is also after him that the castle has been named Tureholm. There is a large library and family portrait in the castle. The Rust Chamber had a large collection of weapons from the late 16th century. Much has however been sold from the castle, as far as the arms of the rust chamber and furniture, etc are concerned.

The castle of Tureholm belonged to the nobleman Nils Gädda in the 1300s, and hence received its first name, Gäddeholm. The castle came by marriage between Svante Nilsson’s (Sture) grandson’s daughter Sigrid and Thure Pedersson Bielke (1562) to attend the Bielke family, which then held it until 1916. Since 1935, the castle is owned by the Bonde family and is a private home.

Tureholm Castle, 619 91 Trosa

ADS:

X